Exploring the Remarkable Journey of Hachiko Sakuma

Hachiko Sakuma

In a world where motherhood is often portrayed through rose-colored glasses, Hachiko Sakuma’s candid and heartfelt book, “I’m Done with This Mom Gig: My Last Year to Live,” stands as a refreshing and authentic account of the joys and challenges of being a mother. With her raw and genuine storytelling, Sakuma has left an indelible mark on readers worldwide as an accomplished author. Let’s embark on a journey into the world of this extraordinary author and her remarkable work.

Who is Hachiko Sakuma?

Before we dive into the pages of “I’m Done with This Mom Gig,” it is essential to understand the author behind the words. Famous author and storyteller Hachiko Sakuma is praised for her capacity to convey the essence of motherhood and humanity. She was born in Tokyo, Japan, and from a young age, she was deeply passionate about reading and writing. Her childhood and life experiences significantly impact her work, adding honesty and sensitivity to it.

Unveiling “I’m Done with This Mom Gig: My Last Year to Live”

Welcome to the captivating story of “I’m Done with This Mom Gig: My Last Year to Live” by Hachiko Sakuma. In this compelling book, 42-year-old Kyoko Otsuka has spent the last 13 years living as a “mom” for her rebellious daughter and soft-spoken husband. Kyoko thought her average and hectic life would continue this way until one day; she was told that she only had a year left to live! Shocked by this news, Kyoko spends the remainder of her life “living for herself.” She declares to her family, who have been spoiled and taken her for granted, that she is done being their “mom” and will take back her life as “Kyoko”!

Chapter 1: A Life-Altering Decision

The author decides at the beginning of the book that she will spend her last year as a mother, deliberately savoring each minute with her children. The author eloquently depicts the critical moment she decides to start her transformative journey in this section. She discusses her reasoning, the factors that led to her choice, and the mental agony she went through as she pondered about the great significance of her final year as a mother. Readers can’t help but identify with her struggle and sense of purpose through her moving storytelling.

Chapter 2: Embracing the Present

Throughout the book, the author emphasizes the importance of living in the present moment. The theme of mindfulness and how it transforms her daily interactions with her children. She discusses the power of being fully present, letting go of distractions, and savoring the small, precious moments that often go unnoticed in the hectic pace of life. By sharing her journey toward embracing the present, the author inspires readers to reevaluate their relationships with their loved ones.

Chapter 3: Lessons in Gratitude

This section delves into the transformative power of gratitude in the author’s life. She narrates heartwarming incidents where her children teach her the art of being thankful for the simplest joys. Through these anecdotes, readers discover gratitude’s profound impact on one’s perspective and overall well-being, making them reflect on their own lives and relationships.

Chapter 4: Navigating Parenthood Challenges

The author experiences various parenting difficulties as she tries to make the most of her last year as a mother. He discusses her challenges in attempting to be the most incredible mother she can be. She discusses juggling her goals with parental duties, solving parenting problems, and overcoming self-doubt. She interacts with readers who have also gone through the ups and downs of parenthood by being open and vulnerable.

Chapter 5: Cherishing Milestones

In this section, the author shares touching anecdotes of her children’s big and small milestones and the overwhelming sense of pride and joy that comes with witnessing their growth. She reflects on the fleeting nature of childhood and the importance of treasuring these precious moments. Her heartfelt stories remind readers to appreciate the milestones in their own children’s lives.

Chapter 6: Dealing with Emotions

In this section, the author bravely expresses the whirlwind of emotions she experiences throughout her journey. She bares her soul, letting readers understand the depth of her feelings—from intense love and joy to nostalgia and heartbreak. She inspires people to recognize and embrace their feelings through her emotional journey, promoting acceptance and self-awareness.

The Circle of Life, Chapter 7

In this part, the author muses about the circle of life and the significant influence parents have on their children’s lives. She thinks about the legacy she wants to leave—one that includes passing along values, memories, and material items. Her thoughtful observations compel Readers to consider their objectives as parents and the impact they hope to have on their children.

Chapter 8: Finding Strength in Vulnerability

In this section, the author shares instances where she finds strength in moments of vulnerability. She talks about the valuable lessons learned from embracing weaknesses and turning them into opportunities for growth. Her candid and uplifting anecdotes inspire readers to view vulnerability not as a weakness but as a source of strength.

Chapter 9: Embracing Imperfection

The author questions society’s unfair expectations of parents in this part and the idea of perfect motherhood. She promotes compassion and self-acceptance, stressing that being imperfect does not exclude one from being a good parent. The author encourages readers to let go of unreasonable standards and find satisfaction in embracing imperfection by opening up about her battles with the quest for perfection.

The Path of Self-Discovery, Chapter 10

The author explores her mothering experience and her journey of self-discovery in this section. She considers how getting to know oneself better affects how she interacts with her kids and the rest of the world. Her contemplative revelations motivate readers to start their own paths of self-discovery.

The Impact of “I’m Done with This Mom Gig: My Last Year to Live”

Sakuma’s book has garnered immense praise for its raw authenticity and profound impact on readers worldwide. By sharing her struggles and triumphs, she has fostered a sense of community among mothers who often grapple with the notion of “having it all together.” “I’m Done with This Mom Gig” has become a source of empowerment, encouraging mothers to embrace their imperfections and celebrate their unique journey.


Hachiko Sakuma’s “I’m Done with This Mom Gig: My Last Year to Live” is a testament to the power of authenticity and vulnerability in storytelling. Through her compelling narrative, Sakuma has touched readers’ hearts worldwide, reminding us of the importance of cherishing the present, embracing imperfection, and finding strength in vulnerability. You can also read about Masqlaseen through that post.


Is “I’m Done with This Mom Gig” a memoir or a novel?

“I’m Done with This Mom Gig” is a memoir, a personal account of Hachiko Sakuma’s journey.

What inspired Hachiko Sakuma to write this book?

Hachiko Sakuma’s life experiences and a profound desire to live authentically inspired her to write this book.

Are there any film adaptations of this book?

There are no known film adaptations of “I’m Done with This Mom Gig.”

How has this book impacted readers’ perspectives on motherhood?

Many readers have found this book empowering and relatable, leading them to reconsider their experiences and perceptions of motherhood.

Where can I purchase a copy of “I’m Done with This Mom Gig”?

You can find “I’m Done with This Mom Gig: My Last Year to Live” at major bookstores and online retailers.